幹細胞治療多發性硬化症 (女士).

幹細胞治療

 

從幹細胞移植治療的國際試驗中期結果顯示出更高的成功率比對照組, 該接收到的藥物治療. MS是一種影響大腦的疾病, 脊髓, 和免疫系統, 導致一些殘疾. 幹細胞治療採用化療來消滅患者的免疫系統,然後“重新啟動”,被疾病影響使用來自患者的血液和骨髓幹細胞它.

完了 100 人參與了這項研究的四個城市: 在芝加哥, 聖保羅, 謝菲爾德 (英國), 和烏普薩拉瑞典. 他們都有復發緩解型MS, 其中具有緩解期的症狀的“復發”交替週期. 治療後一年, 只是誰接受幹細胞治療一名患者復發, 相比 39 人對照組.

在後續的治療後,平均三年, 該 幹細胞 未能在 6% (3 的 52) 收件人而藥物治療失敗的 60% (30 的 50). 該研究結果發表在歐洲社會在里斯本年會上骨和骨髓移植發布.

皇家海萊姆醫院在U.K神經學家. 告訴BBC,這是他在多發性硬化症的任何審判看到“最好的結果,“雖然他包括警告,結果只是初步的.

這項研究是最大的同類, 並支持了它的小規模試驗已經還顯示結果 幹細胞移植 有效.

摘要
幹細胞治療
用戶評分
4.5 基於 3
服務類型
幹細胞治療
提供程序名稱
NBScience,
區域
醫學
描述
幹細胞治療
幹細胞治療

Stem Cells Treatment for multiple sclerosis (MS).

Stem Cells therapy

 

Interim results from an international trial of a stem cell transplant treatment showed a much higher success rate than the control group, which received a drug treatment. MS is a disease that affects the brain, spinal cord, and immune system, leading to a number of disabilities. The stem cell treatment uses chemotherapy to wipe out a patient’s immune system and then “re-boots” it using stem cells from the patient’s blood and bone marrow that are unaffected by the disease.

Just over 100 people participated in the study in four cities: in Chicago, Sao Paolo, Sheffield (U.K.), and Uppsala in Sweden. They all had relapsing remitting MS, where periods of symptomatic “relapses” alternate with periods of remission. A year after the treatment, only one patient who received the stem cell treatment had relapsed, compared to 39 people in the control group.

In a follow-up an average of three years after treatment, the stem cells had failed in 6% (3 of 52) of recipients while the drug treatment had failed in 60% (30 of 50). The results were released at the annual meeting of the European Society for Bone and Marrow Transplantation in Lisbon.

A neurologist at Royal Hallamshire Hospital in the U.K. told the BBC this was the best result he had seen “in any trial for multiple sclerosis,” though he included the caveat that the results were only preliminary.

This study is the largest of its kind, and it bolsters results from smaller trials that have also showed stem cell transplant to be effective.

stem cell therapy