علاج القرنية المخروطية وضمور القرنية بالخلايا الجذعية

المجال المتنامي لـ العلاج بالخلايا الجذعية يهدف إلى هدف محتمل آخر للعين: حثل القرنية.

أكمل فريق البحث البحث السريري الذي أظهر أن الخلايا الجذعية يمكن أن تنتج كولاجين جديد. العلاج بالخلايا الجذعية مصمم لتقوية وتصحيح القرنية عند المرضى مع القرنية المخروطية والأمراض الأخرى المرتبطة بخلل في الخلايا القرنية في القرنية.

بعد نتائج واعدة في نماذج حيوانية, تم تقييم نموذج العلاج في 5 المرضى البالغين الذين يعانون من القرنية المخروطية المتقدمة.

“تشير هذه الدراسة إلى أنه يمكن استخدام الخلايا الجذعية وأن الإجراء آمن وأن الخلايا الجذعية تنتج كولاجينًا صحيًا جديدًا في العيون المريضة,” قال الباحث الرئيسي.

في المرحلة الأولى من المحاكمة, تم استخراج الخلايا الجذعية من كل مريض. عندما تكون الخلايا الجذعية المستنبتة جاهزة في جرعة العلاج, تم حقنهم.

قرر الباحثون استخدام الخلايا الجذعية بسبب قدرتها على التمايز إلى أنواع عديدة من الخلايا وسهولة الوصول إليها مقارنة بالطرق الأخرى..

بعد إجراء الزرع, لم يكن هناك التهاب أو نوبات من الرفض. و, على الرغم من المخاوف من انثقاب القرنية الرقيقة والضعيفة, لم يلاحظ الفريق أي آثار سلبية على الميكانيكا الحيوية للقرنية.

بعد ستة أشهر من العلاج, أظهر المرضى تحسنًا في UCVA لكل سطر, و BCVA بمقدار 2 خطوط ذات عدسات لاصقة صلبة. البيانات المرئية لم تكن متاحة للموضوع الخامس, الذين لم يكملوا التقييم الكامل لإجراءات المتابعة. في جميع المواضيع, ظل تركيز IOP والخلايا البطانية مستقرًا, وأكد الفحص المجهري الحيوي (كنفوكل) بقاء الخلايا الجذعية. تم تحسين الكرة الممتازة في 2 المشاركين وظلوا على مستوى أساسي من 3 المشاركين.

على المدى الطويل, يجب أن تكون هذه الخلايا القرنية المعالجة قادرة على تولي وتعويض الخلل الناتج عن مرضى الخلايا القرنية, استعادة سمك القرنية.

___________________

طور باحثون آخرون تقنية جديدة لعلاج العين باستخدام الخلايا الجذعية, مما يساعد على الانتعاش الطبيعي للعين المتضررة من حادث أو مرض. يمكن أن تساعد هذه التقنية ملايين الأشخاص حول العالم في الحفاظ على رؤيتهم واستعادتها.

يصف الباحثون طريقة جديدة لإنشاء الأغشية باستخدام الخلايا الجذعية. تم تصميم هذه التقنية لعلاج تلف القرنية, وهو أحد العوامل الرئيسية التي تؤدي إلى الإصابة بالعمى على هذا الكوكب.

يشمل العلاج القياسي لعمى القرنية زرع القرنية أو حقن الخلايا الجذعية. لبعض المرضى, قد يفشل هذا العلاج بعد بضع سنوات, حيث أن العين التي تلتئم لا تحتوي على الخلايا الجذعية اللازمة للترميم الحالي للقرنية.

أظهرت الاختبارات المعملية أن الأغشية تدعم نمو الخلايا.

يعتبر علاج عمى القرنية أمرًا ملحًا بشكل خاص في البلدان النامية, حيث يكون معدل حدوث أضرار كيميائية أو رضحية للعين مرتفعًا, والعلاج المعقد مثل الزرع أو الزرع الأمنيوسي غير متاح لغالبية السكان.

نظرًا لقدرة التجدد العالية للخلايا الجذعية ، يمكننا استخدامها.

شهادة GCP

هذه التقنية مناسبة أيضًا للبلدان الأكثر تقدمًا مثل المملكة المتحدة والولايات المتحدة الأمريكية,

تعتمد الأساليب الحالية في علاج عمى القرنية على أنسجة المتبرع لتوصيل الخلايا المستنبتة, مما يدل على وجود بنك الأنسجة. ولكن لا يمكن للجميع الوصول إلى مثل هذا البنك ومن المستحيل تمامًا القضاء تمامًا على جميع مخاطر نقل المرض عند العمل مع الأنسجة البشرية الحية

مع استخدام مادة اصطناعية, سيتم استبعاد بعض المخاطر على المرضى, وهذه المواد ستكون متاحة لجميع الجراحين.

نأمل أيضًا ألا تكون الدورة الكاملة للعلاج باستخدام الخلايا الجذعية أفضل من دورات العلاج الحالية فقط, لكن, في نفس الوقت, أرخص.

ساعدت الخلايا الجذعية الأطباء في علاج عتامة القرنية , وفقًا للجمعية الأمريكية لبيولوجيا الخلية. هكذا, سيكون من الممكن علاج مرض بشري شائع جدًا في المستقبل بدون جراحة.

___________

التنشيط (تجديد) باستخدام الخلايا الجذعية – طريقة تعتمد على قدرة حقن الخلايا الجذعية في الجسم للاندماج مع الهياكل التالفة, تفرق حسب نوعها, مما يؤدي إلى ظهور أنسجة صحية جديدة, وعزل مختلف المواد الفعالة (بما في ذلك عامل النمو) تحفيز التأثير على الهياكل المحيطة.

وتجدر الإشارة إلى أنه في مجال علاج أمراض العيون, على حد سواء الخلايا الجذعية الذاتية (مأخوذة مباشرة من المريض) و خيفي (الجنين / الجنين) الخلايا الجذعية إنتاج العديد من المواد النشطة بيولوجيا تستخدم بنشاط اليوم

تعمل هذه المواد على تنشيط استعادة الأنسجة المشوهة والخلايا الأخرى , وكذلك تصحيح العملية الطبيعية للأنسجة والتوازن الخلوي.

بالطبع, في بعض حالات العيون ليست هناك حاجة ملحة لاستخدامها العلاج بالخلايا الجذعية, لكن, بعد حروق العين أو تآكل القرنية المتكرر, غالبًا لا يؤدي العلاج القياسي إلى النتائج المرجوة.

و لاحقا, يؤدي إغلاق الضرر الظهاري إلى تغييرات لا رجعة فيها في القرنية. وبالتالي, في هذه الحالات, زرع الخلايا الجذعية ليس مرغوبًا فيه فقط, ولكنها ضرورية أيضًا, لأن حقنها في الجسم يؤدي إلى انخفاض تعكر القرنية, تحفيز عمليات الاستعادة التعويضية, تعليق تدفق وتطبيع تدفق الدم في الملتحمة.

يعطي التأثير الإيجابي لحقن الخلايا الجذعية عناصر موجودة فيها مثل السيتوكينات, الانترلوكينات وعوامل النمو, وجودهم / تعمل على تنشيط العمليات التجديدية وتدعم النشاط الحيوي لجميع الخلايا والأنسجة. إجراء زرع الخلايا الجذعية للمريض بسيط للغاية – لا يلزم التدخل الجراحي – يمكن استخدام الحقن البسيط.

قبل عشر سنوات, أعلن الباحثون أنهم نجحوا في تحويل الخلايا الجذعية الجنينية البشرية إلى خلايا طلائية صبغية في شبكية العين.

تساعد هذه الخلايا في الحفاظ على صحة المستقبلات الضوئية للعين. ولكن عندما تتدهور حالة ظهارة الشبكية الصبغية, يمكن لأي شخص أن يصاب بالعمى. هذا يحدث, كقاعدة, مع التنكس البقعي المرتبط بالعمر في شبكية العين والضمور البقعي – مرض وراثي يصيب الشباب.

العلاج بالخلايا الجذعية

حاول فريق الباحثين عكس هذه العملية. قام العلماء بحقن الخلايا الجذعية في 18 المتطوعين, نصفهم يعانون من التنكس البقعي المرتبط بالعمر, والنصف الآخر مصاب بمرض شتاهتجارت. بعد سنة, حالة عيون 10 تحسن المرضى, ثلاثة أخرى استقرت. كل من هذه 13 أظهر الناس زيادة في التصبغ, مشيرا إلى أن الخلايا الجذعية المزروعة تعمل.

حيث تم علاج عين واحدة فقط لكل شخص (لأسباب أخلاقية, لم يكن للدراسة مجموعة تحكم منفصلة), كان من الممكن متابعة ديناميات المرض في الثانية. في جميع الحالات, استمرت حالة العين المزدوجة في التدهور.

في المتوسط, تحسنت رؤية المريض بثلاثة خطوط وفقًا لاختبار حدة البصر القياسي. أثناء العلاج (وبدأت في 2012), لم يتم العثور على آثار جانبية خطيرة, بما في ذلك عدم وجود علامات ظهور الأورام, المخاطر الرئيسية المحتملة في العلاج بالخلايا الجذعية.

كان الهدف من الدراسة هو وقف المزيد من التدهور في الرؤية, لذا كان تحسين القدرات البصرية بمثابة مكافأة سارة غير متوقعة للباحثين.

أسئلة?

العلاج بالخلايا الجذعية

العلاج بالخلايا الجذعية

Keratoconus and Corneal Dystrophy Stem Cell therapy

The growing field of  stem cell therapy is aimed at another potential eye target: corneal dystrophy.

Research team completed clinical research showing that stem cells  can  produce new collagen. Stem cell therapy is designed to strengthen and correct the cornea in patients with keratoconus and other diseases associated with dysfunctional keratocytes of the cornea.

After promising results in animal models, the treatment paradigm was evaluated in 5 adult patients with advanced keratoconus.

“This study suggests that stem cells can be used and procedure is safe and that stem cells produce new healthy collagen in diseased eyes,” said lead researcher.

In the first stage of the trial, stem cells were extracted from  each patient. When the cultured stem cells were ready in treatment dosage, they was injected.

Researchers decided to use stem cells because of their ability to differentiate into many types of cells and their easy accessibility compared to other methods.

 

After  implantation procedure, there was no inflammation or episodes of rejection. And, despite concerns about the perforation of a thin and weak cornea, the team did not observe any adverse effects on the corneal biomechanics.

Six months after treatment,  patients showed improvement in UCVA per line, and BCVA increased by 2 lines with a rigid contact lens. The visual data was not available for the 5th subject, who did not complete a full assessment of the follow-up actions. In all subjects, the concentration of IOP and endothelial cells remained stable, and confocal biomicroscopy confirmed the survival of  stem cells. The excellent sphere improved in 2 participants and remained at a basic level of 3 participants.

In the long term, these treated keratocytes should be able to take over and compensate for the defect created by patients with keratocytes,  restoring the thickness of the cornea.

___________________

 

Other researchers have developed a new technique for treating the eye by using stem cells, which will help the natural recovery of eyes damaged by an accident or illness. This technique can help millions of people around the world preserve and even restore their vision.

Researchers describes a new method for creating membranes by using stem cells. This technology is designed to treat corneal damage, which is one of the main factors leading to blindness on the planet.

 

The standard treatment for corneal blindness involves corneal transplantation or stem cell injections. For some patients, such treatment after a few years may fail, since the healed eye does not contain the stem cells needed for the current restoration of the cornea.

Laboratory tests have shown that membranes support cell growth.

Treatment of corneal blindness is particularly urgent in developing countries, where the incidence of chemical or traumatic eye damage is high, and complex treatment such as transplantation or amniotic transplantation is not available to the majority of the population.

Due to high regenerative potential of stem cells we can use it.

GCP certificate

 

This technique is also relevant for more developed countries such as the United Kingdom and the United States of America,

Current methods of treating corneal blindness are based on donor tissue for the delivery of cultured cells, which implies the presence of a tissue bank. But not everyone has access to such a bank and it is absolutely impossible to completely eliminate all risks of disease transfer when working with living human tissue

With the use of artificial material, some risks for patients will be excluded, and this material will be available to all surgeons.

We also hope that a full cycle of treatment using stem cells will not only be better than current treatment courses, but, at the same time, cheaper.

 

Stem cells  helped doctors cure opacity of the cornea , according to the American Society of Cell Biology. Thus, a very common human disease in the future will be possible to treat without surgery.

 

 ___________

 

Revitalization (rejuvenation) by using stem cells – method is based on the ability of stem cells injected into the body to merge with damaged structures, differentiate by their type, giving rise to a new healthy tissue, and to isolate various active substances (including growth factor) stimulating influence on surrounding structures.

It should be noted that in the field of treatment of ophthalmic diseases, both autologous stem cells (taken directly from the patient) and allogenic (embryo / fetal) stem cells produce  various biologically active substances are actively used today

Such substances activate  restoration of deformed tissues and other cells , and also debug the natural process of tissue and cellular homeostasis.

Of course, in some  ophthalmic cases there is no urgent need to use stem cell therapy, however, after eye burns or  recurrent corneal erosion, standard treatment often does not lead to the desired results.

And later,  closure of epithelial damage results in irreversible changes in the cornea. Therefore, in these cases, stem cell transplantation is not only desirable, but also necessary, because their injection into the body leads to a decrease in the turbidity of the cornea, stimulation of the processes of the reparative restoration, suspension of the flow and normalization of blood flow in the conjunctiva.

The positive effect of the injection of stem cells gives such elements contained in them as cytokines, interleukins and growth factors,  their presence / functions activates  regenerative processes and supports  vital activity of all cells and  tissues. Procedure of stem cell transplantation for the patient is incredibly simple – no surgical intervention is required – a simple infusions can be used.

 

Ten years ago,  researchers announced that they successfully converted human embryonic stem cells into retinal pigment epithelial cells.

These cells help keep  photoreceptors of the eye healthy. But when the state of retinal pigment epithelium deteriorates, a person can go blind. This happens, as a rule, with age-related macular degeneration of the retina and macular degeneration  – a genetic disease that affects young people.

stem cell therapy

Researchers team tried to reverse this process. Scientists injected stem cells to 18 volunteers, half of whom had age-related macular degeneration, and the other half had Stahtgart disease. A year later, the condition of eyes of 10 patients improved, another three stabilized. Each of these 13 people showed an increase in pigmentation, indicating that the transplanted stem cells are working.

Since only one eye of each person was treated (for ethical reasons, the study did not have a separate control group), it was possible to follow the dynamics of the disease in the second. In all cases, the condition of the paired eye continued to deteriorate.

On average, the patient’s vision improved by three lines according to the standard visual acuity test. During treatment (and it began in 2012), no serious side effects were found, including no signs of the appearance of tumors, the main potential risk in stem cell therapy.

The aim of the study was to stop further deterioration in vision, so improving visual abilities was an unexpected pleasant bonus for researchers.

 

Questions?

Stem Cell therapy in Ukraine

stem cell therapy