奥克雷乌斯 (奥瑞珠单抗) 是一种人源化单克隆抗体,旨在选择性靶向 CD20 阳性 B 细胞, 一种特定类型的免疫细胞,被认为是造成髓鞘和轴突神经细胞损伤的关键因素. Ocrevus 可用于治疗两种复发 (有效值) 和初级进步 (聚丙烯酰胺) m 的形式多发性硬化症.
Dupixent (杜匹鲁单抗) 是一种白介素 4 受体 α 拮抗剂,适用于治疗控制不佳的中重度特应性皮炎成人患者.
泽茹拉 (尼拉帕尼) 是口头的, 聚ADP-核糖聚合酶 (帕普) 复发性铂敏感患者维持治疗的抑制剂 卵巢, 输卵管, 或初级 腹膜癌.
Symproic (纳尔德迈丁) 是一种外周作用的μ-阿片受体拮抗剂,用于治疗阿片类药物引起的便秘.
巴文乔 (avelumab) 一世s 程序性死亡配体-1 (PD-L1) 用于治疗转移性 Merk 患者的封闭抗体el细胞癌 (中冶).
沙达戈 (沙芬酰胺) 是 B 型单胺氧化酶 (毛B) 抑制剂适用于帕金森病患者左旋多巴/卡比多巴的辅助治疗 (PD) 经历过的情节.
基斯卡利 (核糖核酸) 是一种选择性细胞周期蛋白依赖性激酶抑制剂,适用于联合治疗 HR+/HER2 的绝经后妇女- 转移性乳腺癌.
夜猫子 (醋酸去氨加压素) 加压素类似物鼻喷雾剂是否适用于治疗夜间多尿引起的夜尿症.
八达通 (屋尘螨过敏原提取物) 是一种舌下过敏免疫疗法 (狭缝) 指示为屋尘螨免疫疗法的片剂 (HDM)-过敏性鼻炎, 有或没有结膜炎.
杰梅洛 (替洛司他乙酯) 是一种口服色氨酸羟化酶抑制剂,适用于与生长抑素类似物联合使用 (在) 转移性神经内分泌肿瘤患者类癌综合征腹泻的治疗.
Qtern (达格列净和沙格列汀) 是一种钠-葡萄糖协同转运蛋白 2 (SGLT2) 抑制剂和二肽基肽酶-4 (民进党4) 抑制剂固定剂量组合治疗成人患者 2 糖尿病.
思力克 (布罗达单抗) 是一种用于治疗斑块状银屑病的人抗白细胞介素 17 受体单克隆抗体.
埃弗拉萨 (地夫可特) 是一种用于治疗杜氏肌营养不良症的糖皮质激素.
帕萨比夫 (艾特卡塞肽) 是一种钙敏感受体激动剂,适用于治疗继发性甲状旁腺功能亢进症 (高压电) 在患有慢性肾病的成年患者中 (慢性肾病) 血液透析.
AirDuo RespiClick (丙酸氟替卡松和沙美特罗) 是一种皮质类固醇和长效β2-肾上腺素能激动剂 (利润) 呼吸激活的组合, 用于治疗哮喘的多剂量干粉吸入剂制剂.
HarmonAir RespiClick (丙酸氟替卡松) 是一种吸入性皮质类固醇呼吸激​​活, 用于治疗哮喘的多剂量干粉吸入剂制剂.
楚兰斯 (普卡那肽) 是一种鸟苷酸环化酶-C 激动剂,用于治疗成人慢性特发性便秘.
罗法德 (盐酸羟甲唑啉) 是一种外用 alpha1A 肾上腺素能受体激动剂血管收缩剂,用于治疗成人与酒渣鼻相关的持续性面部红斑.
范特雷拉ER (氢可酮酒石酸氢盐) 是一种抑制滥用的阿片类药物制剂,用于治疗严重到需要每天服用的疼痛, 全天候, 长期阿片类药物治疗.
阿雷莫ER (硫酸吗啡) 是一个延长版本, 滥用威慑, 用于治疗剧烈疼痛的阿片类镇痛剂配方.

1. 消除疟疾的新药伯内特研究所的研究人员, 莫纳什大学, 和澳大利亚迪肯大学能够减少对疟疾寄生虫生存至关重要的蛋白质供应. 由于疟原虫生活在红细胞内, 免疫系统无法检测到它. 国王沃德塔尼亚, 该论文的合著者和迪金斯医学院的杰出成员, 在《自然》杂志上发表了她的发现. 她说研究表明蛋白质可以通过一个入口进入红细胞, 这最终提供了一条进入 RBC 的途径,以便它能够生存和繁殖. 科学家们设法改变了这个入口点的功能,使蛋白质无法进入红细胞, 然后饿死并杀死寄生虫.

该研究针对药物治疗的单一途径,因为它被寄生虫用于获取蛋白质.

2. 癌症治疗的突破

格列卫, 也称为伊马替尼, 被许多人认为是一种神奇的药物. 它最初在 2001 美国食品和药物管理局用于治疗慢性粒细胞白血病 (中华医学会). 该药物取得了惊人的成功率, 具有完全的血液学反应 (CHR) 被观察到 53 在......之外 54 耐心, 根据肿瘤学家的说法, 比兰杜克. 每位患者均按常规剂量服用 300 mg 并且在治疗后的前四个星期内反应明显.

最近, 历时五年的后续研究成果显着. 在这项研究中, 研究人员发现,经过五年的格列卫治疗, 98% 的患者表现出 CHR. 此外, 五年后的总生存率为 89% 而且复发率只是 17%. 所有这些发现都证明了格列卫令人印象深刻的性质.

攻击癌细胞的抗体

3. 药物发现新策略

斯克里普斯研究所的科学家 (TSRI) 已经设计了一种新的药物发现策略,使研究人员可以选择可以在治疗特定疾病所需的技术中影响细胞的化合物. 为了强调这种技术的力量, TSRI 的团队使用这种策略来确定一种化合物,它有可能治疗与肥胖相关的糖尿病. 他们还成功地鉴定了被该化合物抑制的脂肪细胞酶. 有趣的是, 这种酶尚未被认为可以治疗糖尿病.

恩里克·赛斯, 副教授或 TSRI 和该研究的资深作者, 说开发的策略有能力加速重要生物途径的发现, 这可能会导致各种疾病的新药加速开发.

4. 靶向一类酶的新药发现技术

邓迪大学领导的一项研究增强了开发新药的能力,这些新药专注于一类涉及神经退行性疾病甚至癌症等重大疾病的酶. 研究小组一直在瞄准被称为去泛素酶的一类酶 (配音). 已发现人类基因组具有接近 90 配音, 在每个过程中都是活跃的.

在未来, 靶向泛素系统元素的药物对制药行业至关重要. 博士. 马蒂亚斯·特罗斯特, 团队的领导者, 说这是第一个允许高通量筛选 DUB 的技术, 这对于确定药物给药的新靶点以及药物开发具有重要意义.

5. 来自诺华的 Serelaxin——治疗心力衰竭的突破性疗法

瑞士制药公司, 诺华, 最近表示,美国食品和药物管理局已授予 Serelaxin 突破性疗法地位, 用于治疗急性心力衰竭. 根据诺华, FDA 的决定是基于其药物后期试验的安全性和有效性结果, 血清素. 该研究还证明,该药物通过以下方式减少了患者的死亡 37% 与接受标准治疗的患者相比,急性心力衰竭后六个月.

去年. 诺华曾表示 Serelaxin 是一种很有前途的药物,即将发布, 而德意志银行的分析师曾预测该药物可能会吸引 $2.5 每年通过其销售额.

6. Vertex Pharmaceuticals 新药组合可治疗囊性纤维化

让药物从构思到上市是最艰巨的任务. 添加到这个, 它可以在任何地方消费 $1-$5 十亿美元和十年的努力. 即使这样, 每一步失败的机会似乎都很高. 考虑到大量的故障率和不确定性, Vertex Pharmaceuticals 可治疗囊性纤维化的新药组合的消息带来了巨大的喘息机会. 对于多年来一直试图找到治愈这种疾病的方法的研究人员来说,这是一个巨大的胜利.

囊性纤维化, 这影响接近 30,000 仅在美国和超过 75,000 在全球范围内, 直到现在都无法治疗. Vertex Pharmaceuticals 决定针对囊性纤维化中的一种重要蛋白质, 被称为囊性纤维化跨膜电导调节器或 CFTR, 其关键作用是将氯离子输送到肺部并远离它们.

7. 多发性硬化症的有希望的治疗

多发性硬化症是一种自身免疫性疾病,可对脊髓和大脑造成严重伤害. 症状包括活动受限和极度疲劳. 它通常影响年龄介于 20 到 50. 这种疾病会损害脂肪膜, 称为髓鞘, 保护中枢神经系统中的神经纤维. 蒂姆·库切, 博士, 美国国家多发性硬化症协会首席研究官表示,新研究为早期治疗开辟了机会,可以通过治疗来改变疾病.

研究人员和神经学家目前正在研究最好的 MS 药物. 杰弗里·K. 黄, 博士, MS 协会剑桥髓鞘修复中心该药物的首席研究员, 剑桥大学, 英格兰说,一种新的治疗方法可以在激活维甲酸受体的合成化学物质的帮助下激活髓鞘 (接收器) 在成人的脑干细胞内. RXR 帮助成体干细胞转化为产生髓鞘的少突胶质细胞.

8. 埃博拉蛋白的发现可能会导致药物开发

最近, 非洲一直受到致命的埃博拉病毒的困扰. 研究人员试图解开这种疾病背后的神秘面纱,几乎没有科学研究突破. 然而, 西奈山伊坎医学院的科学家, 德克萨斯大学西南医学中心和圣华盛顿大学. 路易斯或许能够破解这种病毒如何破坏免疫系统的密码,并找出预防这种疾病的方法.

该团队揭示了埃博拉病毒的一种独特机制,该机制阻碍了干扰素保护蛋白的作用- 阻止病毒感染人体细胞. 博士. 伊坎医学院的克里斯托弗·巴斯勒 (Christopher Basler) 表示,这些细节可以成为开发可以对抗埃博拉病毒的药物的基础.

9. 新的埃博拉药物在临床试验中治愈猴子

致命的埃博拉病毒的治疗方法可能终于被发现了. 最近, 有科学家报告称感染埃博拉病毒的猴子已完全治愈. 药物, Zmapp, 目前用于治疗感染病毒的患者,其中包括英国护士威廉·普利(William Pooley),他在塞拉利昂感染该病后目前正在伦敦皇家自由医院接受治疗.

大约 18 发现感染埃博拉病毒的猴子服用ZMapp后完全治愈. 结果, 据专家介绍, 非常鼓舞人心. 彼得·皮奥特教授, 伦敦卫生学院院长 & 热带医学, 表示这些试验现在有强大的支持,应该用于人类. 另一方面, 应该指出的是,两名接受该药物治疗的患者已经死亡, 但这可能是因为药物给药太晚而无法发挥作用.

10. 新药可治疗最具侵袭性的肺癌

科学家发现了一种可能治疗小细胞肺癌的新药, 这种疾病最具破坏性的形式. 目前, 该药物正在进行临床试验,可能用于治疗不受化疗影响的肿瘤患者. 研究结果发表在《临床癌症研究》上,可以帮助找出那些对治疗有更大反应机会的患者. 该药物通过分析癌细胞中的能量产生作为抑制肿瘤生长的手段起作用.

Caroline Dive 教授, 研究负责人, 称小细胞肺癌预后不佳,治疗未有重大突破. 名为 AZD3965 的药物尚未在小细胞肺癌中进行试验.

这些重大科学突破无疑让生活质量变得更丰富, 然而; 在为社会福祉而实施这些发现之前,还需要进行进一步的研究和测试.

干细胞疗法

New drug approvals

Ocrevus (ocrelizumab) is a humanized monoclonal antibody designed to selectively target CD20-positive B cells, a specific type of immune cell thought to be a key contributor to myelin and axonal nerve cell damage. Ocrevus is indicated as a treatment for both relapsing (RMS) and primary progressive (PPMS) forms of multiple sclerosis.
Dupixent (dupilumab) is an interleukin-4 receptor alpha antagonist indicated for the treatment of adult patients with inadequately controlled moderate-to-severe atopic dermatitis.
Zejula (niraparib) is an oral, poly ADP-ribose polymerase (PARP) inhibitor for the maintenance treatment of patients with recurrent platinum-sensitive ovarian, fallopian tube, or primary peritoneal cancer.
Symproic (naldemedine) is a peripherally-acting mu-opioid receptor antagonist for the treatment of opioid-induced constipation.
Bavencio (avelumab) is a programmed death ligand-1 (PD-L1) blocking antibody indicated for the treatment of patients with metastatic Merkel cell carcinoma (MCC).
Xadago (safinamide) is a monoamine oxidase type B (MAO-B) inhibitor indicated as an adjunctive treatment to levodopa/carbidopa in patients with Parkinsons disease (PD) experiencing off episodes.
Kisqali (ribociclib) is a selective cyclin-dependent kinase inhibitor indicated for the combination treatment of postmenopausal women with HR+/HER2- metastatic breast cancer.
Noctiva (desmopressin acetate) is vasopressin analog nasal spray indicated for the treatment of nocturia due to nocturnal polyuria.
Odactra (house dust mite allergen extract) is a sublingual allergy immunotherapy (SLIT) tablet indicated as immunotherapy for house dust mite (HDM)-induced allergic rhinitis, with or without conjunctivitis.
Xermelo (telotristat ethyl) is an oral tryptophan hydroxylase inhibitor indicated for use in combination with somatostatin analog (SSA) therapy for the treatment of carcinoid syndrome diarrhea in patients with metastatic neuroendocrine tumors.
Qtern (dapagliflozin and saxagliptin) is a sodium-glucose cotransporter 2 (SGLT2) inhibitor and dipeptidyl peptidase-4 (DPP4) inhibitor fixed-dose combination for the treatment of adult patients with type 2 diabetes.
Siliq (brodalumab) is a human anti-interleukin-17-receptor monoclonal antibody for the treatment of plaque psoriasis.
Emflaza (deflazacort) is a glucocorticoid for the treatment of Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy.
Parsabiv (etelcalcetide) is a calcium-sensing receptor agonist indicated for the treatment of secondary hyperparathyroidism (HPT) in adult patients with chronic kidney disease (CKD) on hemodialysis.
AirDuo RespiClick (fluticasone propionate and salmeterol) is a corticosteroid and long-acting beta2-adrenergic agonist (LABA) combination in a breath-activated, multi-dose dry powder inhaler formulation for the treatment of asthma.
ArmonAir RespiClick (fluticasone propionate) is an inhaled corticosteroid in a breath-activated, multi-dose dry powder inhaler formulation for the treatment of asthma.
Trulance (plecanatide) is a guanylate cyclase-C agonist for the treatment of chronic idiopathic constipation in adults.
Rhofade (oxymetazoline hydrochloride) is a topical alpha1A adrenoceptor agonist vasoconstrictor for the treatment of persistent facial erythema associated with rosacea in adults.
Vantrela ER (hydrocodone bitartrate) is an abuse deterrent opioid formulation for the management of pain severe enough to require daily, around-the-clock, long-term opioid treatment.
Arymo ER (morphine sulfate) is an extended-release, abuse-deterrent, opioid analgesic formulation for the management of severe pain.
1. New Drugs to Eliminate Malaria

Researchers from the Burnet Institute, Monash University, and Deakin University in Australia were able to cut down the supply of proteins to the Malaria parasite essential for its survival. Since the Malaria parasite lives inside the RBC, the immune system is not able to detect it. Tania de Koning-Ward, co-author of the paper and an eminent member of Deakins Medical School, published her findings in Nature. She said that the research had shown that the proteins could get access to the RBC through a single entrance, which eventually provided a path to get into the RBC so that it could survive and multiply. The scientists managed to change the function of this entry point so that the proteins could not get into the RBC, and then starve and kill the parasite.

The research targets the single gateway for drug treatments considering the fact that it is used by the parasite to obtain the proteins.

2. Breakthrough in the Treatment of Cancer

Gleevec, which is also known as Imatinib, is greatly considered a miracle drug to many. It was initially given an approval in 2001 by the US Food and Drug Administration to cure Chronic Myelogenous Leukemia (CML). The drug has had a phenomenal success rate, with Complete Hematologic Responses (CHR) being observed in 53 out of 54 patients, according to oncologist, Biran Duker. Each patient was given a regular dosage of 300 mg and the response was evident within the first four weeks following therapy.

Recently, the results of a follow-up study which lasted for five years were outstanding. In this study, researchers found that after five years of therapy with Gleevec, 98% of patients exhibited a CHR. Furthermore, the overall survival rate after five years was 89% and the relapse rate was a mere 17%. All of these findings have proved the impressive nature of Gleevec.

Antibodies Attacking A Cancer Cell

3. New Strategy for the Discovery of Drugs

Scientists at The Scripps Research Institute (TSRI) have devised a new strategy for the discovery of drugs that allows researchers to choose the chemical compounds that can impact cells in a technique required for the treatment of a particular disease. In order to emphasize the power of this technique, the team at TSRI used this strategy to determine a compound that has the potential to treat diabetes linked to obesity. They were also successful in identifying the fat-cell enzyme that is inhibited by the compound. Interestingly enough, this enzyme has not yet been thought to treat diabetes.

Enrique Saez, Associate Proffesor or TSRI and senior author of the study, said that the strategy developed has the power to speed up the discovery of vital biological pathways, which may result in the accelerated development of new drugs for various diseases.

4. New Drug Discovery Technique to Target a Class of Enzymes

A research headed by the University of Dundee has enhanced the power of developing new drugs that focus on a class of enzymes involved in major diseases like neurodegenerative condition and even cancer. The research team has been targeting the class of enzymes known as deubiquitylases (DUBs). The human genome has been found to have close to 90 DUBs, which are active in every process.

In future, drugs targeting elements of the ubiquitin system will be of crucial importance to the pharmaceutical sector. Dr. Matthias Trost, the leader of the team, said that this is the first technique which permits the high-throughput screening of DUBs, which is of great significance in identifying new targets for the administration of drugs as well as the development of medication.

5. Serelaxin from Novartis-a Breakthrough Therapy in the Treatment of Heart Failure

Swiss pharmaceutical firm, Novarits, recently stated that the US Food and Drug Administration had given the breakthrough therapy status to Serelaxin, which is used in the treatment of acute heart failure. According to Novartis, the FDAs decision was based by safety and efficacy outcomes from a late stage trial of its drug, Serelaxin. The study also proved that the drug cut down the deaths of patients by 37% at six months following acute heart failure in comparison to patients receiving standard therapy.

Last year. Novartis had said that Serelaxin was a promising drug to be released soon, while analysts at Deutsche bank had predicted that the drug could pull in $2.5 billion annual through its sales.

6. Vertex Pharmaceuticals New Drug Combination can Treat Cystic Fibrosis

The task of getting a medication right from conception to the market is the toughest job of all. Added to this, it can consume anywhere between $1-$5 billion dollars and a decade of effort. Even then, the chances of failure seem to be high at every step. Considering the massive amount of failure rate and uncertainty, the news of Vertex Pharmaceuticals new drug combination which can treat Cystic Fibrosis comes as a huge respite. This is a huge triumph for researchers who have been since ages trying to find a cure for this disease.

Cystic Fibrosis, which affects close to 30,000 individuals in the US alone and more than 75,000 across the globe, was not treatable until now. Vertex Pharmaceuticals decided to target an important protein in Cystic Fibrosis, referred to as the Cystic Fibrosis Transmembrane Conductance Regulator or CFTR, whose key role is to transport chloride ions to the lungs and away from them.

7. Promising Treatment for Multiple Sclerosis

Multiple Sclerosis is an autoimmune disease that can cause serious harm to the spinal cord and brain. The symptoms include restricted movement and profound fatigue. It usually affects people between the ages of 20 to 50. The disease harms a fatty membrane, referred to as myelin, which safeguards nerve fibers in the central nervous system. Tim Coetzee, PhD, chief research officer of the National Multiple Sclerosis Society says that new research has opened up opportunities for treatment at an early stage with therapies that modify the disease.

Researchers and neurologists are presently working on the best MS medications available. Jeffrey K. Huang, PhD, a lead researcher of the drug at the MS Society Cambridge Centre for Myelin Repair, University of Cambridge, England says that a new treatment allows the Myelin Sheath Invigorate with the help of synthetic chemicals that activate Retinoid Acid Receptor (RXR) within the brainstem cells of an adult. RXR assists the transformation of adult stem cells into oligodendrocytes-cells that produce myelin.

8. Discovery of Ebola Protein could Lead to Drug Development

Recently, Africa has been plagued by the deadly Ebola virus. There has been very little scientific research breakthrough with researchers trying to unravel the mystery behind this disease. However, scientists at the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center and Washington University in St. Louis may be able to crack the code on how this virus destroys the immune system and find out ways to prevent the disease.

The team sheds light on a unique mechanism of the Ebola virus that obstructs the efforts by interferons-protective proteins- to stop the virus from infecting the cells of the body. Dr. Christopher Basler at the Ichan School of Medicine states that these details can be the foundation to the development of the drug that can combat the Ebola virus.

9. New Ebola Drug Cures Monkeys in Clinical Trial

The cure for the fatal Ebola virus may finally have just been discovered. Recently, there has been reports by scientists of Ebola-infected monkeys being completely cured. The medication, Zmapp, is at present being used to treat patients infected with the virus including William Pooley-a British nurse-who is currently being treated at London-based Royal Free hospital after contracting the disease in Sierra Leone.

Around 18 monkeys infected with Ebola were found to be totally cured after being administered ZMapp. The results, according to experts, were heavily encouraging. Professor Peter Piot, Director of the London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine, stated that these trials now have a strong backing and should be used in humans. On the other hand, it should be noted that two patients treated with the drug had died, but it may have been because the drug was administered too late for it to be effective.

10. New Drug could Treat Most Aggressive Form of Lung Cancer

Scientists have found a new drug that could possibly treat small cell lung cancer, the most destructive form of the disease. Currently, this drug is undergoing clinical trials and could potentially be used to treat patients who have tumours that are not affected by chemotherapy treatment. The findings were published in the Clinical Cancer Research and could help in finding out those patients who have greater chances to respond to the treatment. The medication works by analyzing energy production in cancer cells as a means to prohibit tumour growth.

Professor Caroline Dive, the leader of the research, said that small cell lung cancer has a dim prognosis and there has not been any significant breakthrough in its treatment. The drug named AZD3965 has not yet been experimented with in small cell lung cancer.

The quality of life has undoubtedly become rich with these major scientific breakthroughs, however; still further research and testing needs to be done before these findings can ever be implemented for the well-being of society.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,